Betty Roberts at the 2009 Teens Lead Conference.


Many organizations have acknowledged and applauded the numerous significant contributions of Betty Roberts.

Professional Awards

2009:  Each year, Lewis & Clark Law School hosts the Honorable Betty Roberts Women in the Law Program. The program features a lecture on issues facing women in the law profession.  The program was established in 2009 with Betty being the inaugural speaker.  In the words of Dean Klonoff, “Betty Roberts was a true giant, who created a path for women lawyers to rise to the top of the legal profession. Our Women in the Law Program is a fitting tribute to this pioneer and role model.”

2006: became the first Oregonian to receive the American Bar Association Commission on Women in the Profession’s Margaret Brent Women Lawyers of Achievement Award, which is given to celebrate women who have achieved professional excellence in the legal field and who have opened the doors for other women lawyers.

1988:  Distinguished Graduate Award, Northwestern School of Law of Lewis & Clark College.  The award is given to a graduate who has used his or her degree from Northwestern School of Law of Lewis & Clark College to achieve a positive mark on his or her profession and whose contributions to the legal profession and the community have brought honor and distinction to the Law School.

1987:  Award of Merit, Oregon State Bar Association.  This award is the highest honor that the bar can bestow. The recipient is someone who has made outstanding contributions to the bench, the bar and the community-at-large, and who exhibits the highest standard of professionalism.

1986:  Distinguished Service on Appellate Courts Award

1986:  Mary Leonard Law Society Distinguished Service Award. The Mary Leonard Law Society (MLLS) is the Marion County chapter of the Oregon Women Lawyers which is dedicated to transforming the practice of law and ensuring justice and equality by advancing women and minorities in the legal profession.

1986: Marion County Bar’s Distinguished Service Award.

1987: received the Oregon State Bar’s highest honor, the Award of Merit, which is given to a lawyer with the highest standards of professionalism and for outstanding contributions to the bench, bar, and community at large.

Civic Awards

2009: Speaker for Women’s History Month, the guest of the regional office of the US Fish and Wildlife Service on behalf of all local federal employees, and presented with a framed commemorative poster, recognizing her lifelong commitment to Equality and Diversity.

2004: The ACLU of Oregon’s E.B. McNaughton Civil Liberties Award.  The award honors individuals or groups who, by particular deed or long record of service, have made outstanding contributions to civil liberties or civil rights in Oregon.

1987:  Civil Liberties Award, Oregon Chapter, ACLU which recognizes exemplary local civil rights leaders

1986:  White Rose Award, March of Dimes.  White Rose honorees are selected on the basis of volunteerism, professional excellence and contributions to the community as a whole.

1976:  Liberty Award, Oregon Conference of Seventh Day Adventists which recognizes individuals who publicly advocate religious freedom.

Education Awards

2011:  awarded an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters (Ph.D.) by Portland State University for her service in schools, the Oregon legislature, and appellate courts.

1988:  Outstanding Alumni Award, Portland State University.  Awarded to individuals who have demonstrated a strong commitment to the community through engagement and service.

1988:  Sea Grant Pioneer Award, Oregon State University

1985:  Distinguished Service Award, Portland State University.  The award recognizes those who by their knowledge and skills have made a significant contribution to the cultural and development of Oregon or society as a whole.

1984:  Distinguished Service Award, University of Oregon.  The award recognizes those who by their knowledge and skills have made a significant contribution to the cultural and development of Oregon or society as a whole.

1975:  Education Citizen of the Year Award, Oregon Education Association.  The OEA Education Citizen of the Year Award recognizes individuals or organizations that have made a significant contribution to or impact on public education in Oregon

Awards for Work In Behalf of Women

2010:  received the first Betty Roberts Woman in Leadership Award from Emerge Oregon—Women Leaders for a Democratic Future.   Emerge Oregon is changing the face of Oregon politics by identifying, training and encouraging women to run for office, get elected and to seek higher office.

2009:  New Leadership Program at Portland State University, Lifetime Achievement Award, for outstanding service to Oregon.

1992:  first recipient of the Oregon Women Lawyers’ Justice Betty Roberts Award, which is given each year to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to promoting women in the legal profession and community.

1988:  received the Oregon Commission for Women’s Woman of Achievement Award, recognizing women who, through their works and lives, have significantly improved the lives of women in Oregon.

1991:  Woman Who Has Made a Difference Award, International Women’s Forum.  A recognition of women throughout the world whose actions, efforts and inspiration truly do make a “World of Difference” in supporting the advancement of women.

1990:  Sue Juba Award, Portland Area Women’s Political Caucus for outstanding community service.

1988:  Woman of Achievement Award, Oregon Commission for Women, recognizing women who, through their works and lives, have significantly improved the lives of women in Oregon.

1982:  Abigail Scott Duniway Award, Women in Communications for Improving the Status of Women in Oregon.

1982:  Women Helping Women Award, Soroptimist International of the Americas.  The award honors women who have worked to improve the lives of women and girls through their professional and/or volunteer work.

1975:  Woman of the Year, Oregon Women’s Political Caucus which celebrates women who have worked tirelessly to improve the status of women through their profession, their vocation, or their volunteerism.